After receiving 224 applications from 34 states and the District of Columbia,  Thomas Vilsack, our Secretary of Agriculture, has announced the 21 members selected to serve on the National Advisory Committee for Implementation of the National Forest System Land Management Planning Rule.


And here they are.  Congratulations and thank you to all of these people!!!


Howard Raymond Vaughan, Public at-Large Representative, Montgomery, Alabama

Vickie Roberts, Public at –Large Representative, Shelton Roberts Properties, Winona, Mississippi

Rodney Stokes, State-elected Office Representative, Michigan Department of Natural Resources, East Lansing, Michigan

Joan May, County –or Local-elected Office Representative, San Miguel County Commissioner, Telluride, Colorado

Robert Cope, County –or Local-elected Office Representative, Lemhi County Commissioner, Salmon, Idaho

William Barquin, American Indian Tribe Representative, Kootenai Tribe of Idaho, Portland, Oregon

Candice Price, Youth Representative, Urban American Outdoors, Kansas City, Missouri

Mike Anderson, National, Regional, or Local Environmental Organization Representative, The Wilderness Society, Seattle, Washington

Peter Nelson, National, Regional, or Local Environmental Organization Representative, Defenders of Wildlife, Washington D.C.

Christopher Topik, Conservation Organization or Watershed Association Representative, The Nature Conservancy, Vienna, Virginia

Stephan Kandell, Conservation Organization or Watershed Association Representative, Trout Unlimited, Durango, Colorado

Susan Jane Brown, Conservation Organization or Watershed Association Representative, Blue Mountain Forest Partners, Portland, Oregon

Adam Cramer, Dispersed Recreation Representative, Outdoor Alliance, Bethesda, Maryland

Wally Covington, Scientific Community Representative, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff, Arizona

Tom Troxel, Timber Industry Representative, Intermountain Timber Association, Rapid City, South Dakota

Pamela Motley, Timber Industry Representative, West Range Reclamation, LLC, Hotchkiss, Colorado

James Magagna, Private Landowner/Grazing Representative, Wyoming Stock Growers Association, Rock Springs, Wyoming

Lorenzo Valdez, Private Landowner/Grazing Representative, Youngsville Cattlemen Association, Fairview, New Mexico

Greg Schaefer, Energy and Mineral Development Representative, Arch Coal, Inc., Gillette, Wyoming

Daniel Dessecker, Commercial or Recreational Hunting and Fishing Interests Representative, Ruffed Grouse Society, Rice Lake, Wisconsin

Russell Ehnes, Developed Outdoor or Commercial Recreation Interest Representative, National Off-Highway Vehicle Conservation Council, Great Falls, Montana

Here is the USDA's Planning Rule homepage:


Views: 73


You need to be a member of Our Forest Place to add comments!

Join Our Forest Place

Comment by Andrea Nick on January 29, 2013 at 8:48am

Has this panel put out any products yet?

Comment by Erica Schachtell on August 8, 2012 at 5:16pm

Has anyone noticed that there is no California representation on this panel?  I wonder how many ppl from California applied....


© 2018   Created by Erica Schachtell.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service